established Dec. 28, 1846 formerly known as Iowa Territory
flag of Iowa
seal of Iowa
Iowa two letter code: IA
capital: Des Moines est. 1857
Hawkeye State
156 Counties:
Adair County
Adair County/Guthrie County
Adams County
Allamakee County
Appanoose County
Appanoose County/Monroe County
Audubon County
Benton County
Benton County/Linn County
Black Hawk County
Black Hawk County/Bremer County
Black Hawk County/Buchanan County
Boone County
Bremer County
Buchanan County
Buena Vista County
Butler County
Calhoun County
Calhoun County/Sac County
Carroll County
Carroll County/Greene County
Carroll County/Guthrie County
Cass County
Cedar County
Cedar County/Johnson County
Cedar County/Muscatine County
Cedar County/Scott County/Muscatine County
Cerro Gordo County
Cherokee County
Chickasaw County
Chickasaw County/Floyd County
Clarke County
Clay County
Clayton County
Clayton County/Allamakee County
Clayton County/Delaware County
Clinton County
Clinton County/Jackson County
Crawford County
Dallas County
Dallas County/Boone County
Dallas County/Polk County
Davis County
Decatur County
Delaware County
Des Moines County
Dickinson County
Dubuque County
Dubuque County/Delaware County
Dubuque County/Jackson County
Dubuque County/Jones County
Emmet County
Fayette County
Fayette County/Bremer County
Fayette County/Buchanan County
Floyd County
Floyd County/Butler County
Floyd County/Cerro Gordo County
Franklin County
Fremont County
Greene County
Grundy County
Guthrie County
Hamilton County
Hancock County
Hancock County/Winnebago County
Hardin County
Hardin County/Franklin County
Harrison County
Harrison County/Crawford County
Henry County
Howard County
Howard County/Chickasaw County
Howard County/Mitchell County
Humboldt County
Ida County
Iowa County
Jackson County
Jasper County
Jefferson County
Jefferson County/Henry County/Washington County
Johnson County
Jones County
Keokuk County
Keokuk County/Iowa County
Keokuk County/Washington County
Kossuth County
Kossuth County/Humboldt County
Kossuth County/Palo Alto County
Lee County
Linn County
Louisa County
Lucas County
Lyon County
Madison County
Madison County/Warren County
Madison County/Warren County/Dallas County/Polk County
Mahaska County
Mahaska County/Wapello County/Monroe County
Marion County
Marion County/Mahaska County
Marshall County
Marshall County/Tama County
Mills County
Mills County/Fremont County
Mitchell County
Monona County
Monroe County
Montgomery County
Muscatine County
O'Brien County
O'Brien County/Sioux County
Osceola County
Page County
Page County/Fremont County
Palo Alto County
Plymouth County
Plymouth County/Woodbury County
Pocahontas County
Pocahontas County/Humboldt County
Polk County
Polk County/Jasper County
Pottawattamie County
Poweshiek County
Poweshiek County/Iowa County
Poweshiek County/Mahaska County
Ringgold County
Ringgold County/Taylor County
Ringgold County/Union County
Sac County
Scott County
Scott County/Muscatine County
Shelby County
Shelby County/Pottawattamie County
Sioux County
Story County
Story County/Polk County/Boone County
Tama County
Taylor County
Taylor County/Adams County
Union County
Van Buren County
Wapello County
Warren County
Warren County/Polk County
Washington County
Wayne County
Webster County
Webster County/Calhoun County
Webster County/Hamilton County
Winnebago County
Winneshiek County
Woodbury County
Worth County
Wright County
Wright County/Franklin County
6 Neighboring States:
South Dakota
5 Areacodes:
319     515     563     641     712    
Airport : 199
Heliport : 86
Ultralight : 2
Electoral Votes: 6
State Motto: Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain
Highest point in Iowa: Hawkeye Point , 1670 feet
tree Bur Oak
tree binomial nomenclature Quercus macrocarpa
flower Wild prairie rose
flower scientificname Rosa arkansana
fish Channel catfish
fish binomial nomenclature Ictalurus punctatus
bird Eastern Goldfinch
amphibian American bullfrog
amphibian binomial nomenclature Rana catesbeiana
dinosaur Tyrannosaurus
rock or stone Quartz Geode
zipcodes for Iowa : 50001 50002 50003 50005 50006 50007 50008
all 1010 zipcodes for Iowa
Crime Chart Iowa Crime (2014) USA Crime (2014)
population 3,107,126 318,857,056
violent crimes 8,4971,197,987
violent crime rate273.5375.7
murder and manslaughter6014,249
murder and manslaughter rate1.94.5
rape rate36.336.6
robbery rate33.6102.2
aggravated assault6,264741,291
aggravated assault rate201.6232.5
property crimes65,0568,277,829
property crime rate2093.82596.1
burglary rate464.4542.5
larceny theft46,4775,858,496
larceny theft rate1495.81837.3
motor vechicle theft4,151689,527
motor vehicle theft rate133.6216.2
Altoona (16,984)
Ames (65,060)
Ankeny (56,764)
Bettendorf (35,505)
Boone (12,692)
Burlington (25,410)
Cedar Falls (41,255)
Cedar Rapids (130,405)
Clinton (26,064)
Clive (17,419)
Coralville (20,608)
Council Bluffs (62,597)
Davenport (102,582)
Des Moines (210,330)
Dubuque (58,799)
Fort Dodge (24,649)
Fort Madison (10,717)
Grimes (10,676)
Indianola (15,467)
Iowa City (74,220)
Johnston (20,871)
Keokuk (10,609)
Marion (37,330)
Marshalltown (27,620)
Mason City (27,366)
Muscatine (23,968)
Newton (15,125)
North Liberty (15,931)
Norwalk (10,135)
Oskaloosa (11,607)
Ottumwa (24,624)
Pella (10,363)
Sioux City (82,821)
Spencer (11,212)
Storm Lake (10,910)
Urbandale (44,062)
Waterloo (68,460)
Waukee (18,990)
Waverly (10,066)
West Des Moines (64,113)